top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Why I had to DNF Heartless

heartless-with-watermark

I do not read fantasy. The only fantasy novels I have read and actually enjoyed are the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, and I didn’t even enjoy those the first time I read them. I read the first two books when I was in the sixth grade and the when I hit the eighth grade, my grandma gave me her set of Harry Potter books and I loved them. I devoured them.

A few months ago, I saw this book all over Instagram. Everyone was talking and posting about how much they loved it and how they couldn’t wait to get their hands on a copy of this book. So when I joined The Bookbabblers bookclub on Instagram, I was excited to hear that the January bookclub read was going to be Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

For those of you who don’t know what Heartless is about, it is a prequel-esque story. It tells the story of how The Queen of Hearts became became The Queen of Hearts.

The story opens with beautiful imagery of baked goods making your mouth water. I loved how well it written it was, but it moved to slowly. By the time I was five chapters in, I couldn’t see why people are so hooked on it. I was hoping something would happen to make me fall in love with this story. But it never happened. I found myself dreading reading this book and wanting nothing more than to avoid reading it, while at the same time I was hoping that each time I picked it up I would fall in love with it and it just never happened.

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page