top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Tourist Trap by Emma Harrison


Entry name: Cassandra Grace Event: Horseback riding (jumping) Animal name: Lola (best horse in the world!) Fee enclosed: Um, almost . . .

See, the thing is, I almost have enough money, I have tons of riding students who pay me, but there’s this guy, and every time he calls I have to see him, so I’ve kind of been skipping work lately . . . but I’ll have the fee soon, I promise!

Hello lovelies! I know I am super behind from my summer reads reviews. I am hoping to catch up soon, I’m still trying to get the hang of running this plus my bookstagram.

I have searched all over trying to find a synopsis of the book but I couldn’t find one. The little blurb like thing I have on top is what the back of the book said but I couldn’t find a synopsis. So I am going to try my hardest to give over a synopsis and a review!

Cassandra Grace has lived in Logan Lake, a  small town, her whole life. She has known the same people her whole life and she has even spent her summer doing the same thing, with the same people. So when the summer after high school rolls around, she knows that things are going to be the same they have been for the past eighteen years. Or at least, thats what she assumes. Cassie is hard working and responsible, saving up every penny for when she finally gets to leave Lake Logan for college. But then something new happens.

The Kent’s come back to Lake Logan, throwing off the entire town. Mrs. Kent grew up in Lake Logan and then left when she met Mr.Kent. Once Mrs. Kent met Mr. Kent, she cut off her friends from the town and become a wealthy manhattan lady.

Enter Jared Kent. Pretty, rich, smart, and way too charming for his own good. Jared takes a strong liking to Cassie and throws off the balance of her last summer home.

Before I start with the review, I need to say that I am a HUGE sucker for any romantic comedy books. They can be the absolute worst thing ever but if they have romance and comedy, I already love it.

This was a very cute book. It has anything a summer read should have: cute boys, best friends, drama, the beach and fun. The characters at first were very one dimensional. Cassie is the good girl, Derek and Donna are the twin best friends. Donna the fun one and Derek the cautious and overbearing one.

When I first started reading the book, I thought that Derek and Cassie were going to end up being a couple. You now the whole best friends bother thing, but I was wrong. And I am very happy I was wrong because Jared Kent is fantastic.

He starts off being a spoiled, entitled Manhattan trust fund baby but we watch him grow into a person who cares about his friends and his family.

The plot is very similar to that of all the other summer rom-com books. And same with most of the characters. The parents aren’t very involved with the story until the end when Cassie gets herself into a problem and needs her parents help, her friends almost stop talking to her until she makes everything right and she almost looses the love of her life; Jared Kent.

The writing wasn’t anything special but I found this to be a fun and light summer read. If you’re looking for something fun, I would definitely recommend you pick up this book.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page