top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Author Interview: Lori Banov Kaufmann

Are there any tips about writing a book you wish someone told you before you wrote REBEL DAUGHTER?

I wish someone had reminded me that I was writing fiction, not a history dissertation and that I didn’t need to obsess over every single detail. That might have shaved a few years off of my research! I felt a sense of obligation to the real-life characters in my book to tell their story as accurately as possible as well as to my readers to get it right. But admittedly, I went overboard. I didn’t need to spend weeks researching how they made face cream in the first-century! 

Was there anything as a Jewish person that you didn’t know about the culture/religion or relearned as an adult while doing research for your main character/novel?

I was drawn to the love story that the gravestone revealed, the story of a Jewish woman and Roman freedman, two people who weren’t supposed to find each other – but did. My real-life characters came from completely different backgrounds and were supposed to be enemies. In the beginning, I wasn’t interested in the time period at all. It was the love story which drew me in. I love historical fiction but my idea of history stopped at World War Two. But as I began researching their story, I became fascinated with that period of ancient history.

There are so many parallels with our world today, especially the turmoil and civil discord. And so much of what I thought I knew about that time turned out to be wrong. For example, I thought the fighters at Masada were brave defenders of Judaism and not, as it turns out, religious fanatics who caused tremendous destruction.

Why was it important to you to have your main character be Jewish?

In many ways, I didn’t find Esther’s story, the story found me. And Esther was Jewish so that became a given, not a choice. Esther was a real person, a young woman who happened to live through events which changed the course of human history. 

Has the current political climate/antisemitism made you hesitant in any way to publish novels where the main character is Jewish?

No, because Rebel Daughter tells a story of courage and faith that speaks to people of all religions. If anything, I believe that we have an obligation – especially in the current environment of mistrust and misunderstanding – to tell our story, the story of the Jewish people. And of course, the early Christians were Jews so our history is theirs as well.

Were there any specific instances of antisemitism that you have experienced in your life that have translated into your work?

I grew up in Charleston, South Carolina where there was certainly a sense of being “other”. I was one of only a handful of Jews in my school. But I always embraced the role of explaining the Jewish holidays and culture to the wider community. In many ways, this book is a continuation of that, of wanting to share our proud Jewish heritage. 

Do you have a favorite thing about being Jewish?

I’ve lived in Israel for the past 35 years where I’m immersed in a vibrant Jewish culture. So it’s not about eating bagels and lox or laughing at Jewish mother jokes. It’s a feeling of being where I belong and where my life has the most meaning. Plus, life in Israel is exciting, fun and fast-paced. There’s no such thing as a boring day!

Do you have a favorite Jewish holiday?

That’s a tough one because life in Israel is very holiday-( and family-) centric. Each holiday, with its special foods and rituals, is a time when families reconnect with our history and values. That said, I think Israel Independence Day is my favorite. People take to the streets, eat corn on the cob and felafel, watch the fireworks, listen to music, and party until dawn. At least we did in the pre-Covid days! 

Can you tell me a secret about REBEL DAUGHTER?

My early drafts were over 1000 pages long. I felt like I was murdering characters when I had to cut out story lines (including one about the early Christian community in the first-century). There was so much about Esther’s life that I was fascinated to discover and wanted to share with my readers.

Is there anything you want people to know about your book before they start reading?

I want my readers to feel like they’re going back in time by stepping into the shoes (or maybe sandals?) of characters who were real people. I worked for more than 10 years with some of the world’s top historians and archaeologists to bring this period to life as authentically as possible. 

I want to thank Lori for being on my blog!!! I am so excited to jump into this book!!

6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page