top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Top Ten Contemporary’s

img_4341
  1. The Wonder of Us by Kim Culbertson.

I have raved about her books before and I will do it again. Culbertson writes some of the best YA contemporary I have read. This one is a fun, heart wrenching, friendship filled travel novel that will have you wanting to travel the world with you BFF.

img_3795-1

2. All About Mia by Lisa Williamson

I recently reviewed this one on my blog and it has become one of my favorite books. Mia is a middle child who is just trying to find her place in her family and in the world. She is fun, real and VERY cringey. And I love her more than anything.

img_3731

3. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertali

This book makes me very happy. The characters are fun and relatable! Molly and her twin sister, Cassie are great siblings. Their relationship is real and relatable. Molly gets her first boyfriend and Cassie gets her first serious girlfriend, the story follows Molly and her new love life.

img_3579

4. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Andie had her whole summer planned out before it got turned upside and she has to stay home with her dad that she has no relationship with. And experiences friendship trouble, love and a new relationship with her dad. This is a really good summer read.

img_2003

5. The Heartbreakers by Ali Novak

The cutest boy band becomes friends with their number one hater and her brother. The characters are fun, adorable, and so swoon worthy.


6. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

I always have trouble describing this book. It’s a retelling of Sherlock Holmes while being about the descendants of both Holmes and Watson. It’s a mystery, contemporary and a retelling all in one. Jamie Watson and Charlotte Holmes are so different but fit together perfectly. 

dsc_0296

7. Just Visiting by Dahlia Adler

This is a book I think high school seniors should read. Regan and Victoria are best friends who want out of their small town and into something bigger and better. They go on a college visit together, where they learn both about themselves and the school. I wish I was friends with Victoria and Regan, they are fiercely loyal and extremely driven. 

img_1933

8. P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Katie West is the queen of contemporaries, I know I have said it before but it is very true.  Lilly writes a little note on her desk and when she comes back the next day, the message has continued. Her and her pen pal continue talking on the desk and slowly take their relationship to the real world. This is super cute and feel good, a must read. 

9. Simon Vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli 

These characters are the best things in the world. Simon and Blue email back and forth, slowly becoming more and more flirtatious as they go on. Neither Simon nor Blue are fully out to their families and friends, but when the emails fall into the wrong hands Simon’s secret is jeopardized. This is such a good book! And theres a movie coming out soon! 

10. Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

I always love her books. I have read all of her books now and I’m in love. Fireworks takes place in 1990s Orlando, where best friends Dana and Olivia are on the verge of falling in love, getting famous and becoming new people. I loved this so much. Especially since theres a scene at Disney World and I love Disney World. The characters are real and this book made me feel a lot. 

10 plus 1. Top Ten by Katie Cotugno

I know I said I was doing top ten, but I couldn’t stop myself. This book is perfect for anyone who has ever fell in love with their best friend. Ryan and Gabby care fiercely for each other and the best best friends ever. The story is told in a non-linear way which makes it a really interesting read. 

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page