top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Top Ten Books I Read This Year

10. Alex, Approximately by Jenn Bennet

img_3702

Porter and Bailey are so different. They balance each other out so well and they are so much fun. I love how some of the book takes place in a museum, I love museums. My dad and I have Kayla and Daddy Day where we go to different museums in NYC together.

9. Coming Up For Air by Miranda Kenneally

32470593

*I received this book as a e-arc from netgalley*

I have never read any of her books before this one and now I am in love with her books and sports romances. This is a sex positive book and uses all the right terms. Levi and Maggie are friends with benefits who become more. I love the characters in this book and I am planning on reading all the books in the series. They can be read as stand-alones not just as a series. 

8. Geekerella by Ashley Poston

30724132

This was the first book I ever won in a goodreads giveaway. I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, but I really did. The cover art is amazing, the quality of the actual book is beyond. I love retellings and this one adds to the list of some of my favorites. Elle and Darien are so right for each other, I would love to see more retellings of other fairy tales by this author with cross over characters. 

7. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

img_2940

I really wasn’t sure if I was going to like this. I used to read mysteries when I was a kid, I loved The Boxcar Children, but as I grew up I rally didnt like them as much. I picked it up and I loved it. Jamie is so cute and fun, and his relationship with Charlotte is really interesting.

6. Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines

img_4232

This was an impulse buy when I had started watching Friday Night Lights on Netflix (which they have taken off of the site and I am very unhappy about that.) I didn’t know if I was ever going to get around to reading it. I read it over the course of probably four days and I loved it. It is swoon worthy, emotional and just so good. I totally could have binge read it if I had the time. 

5. Top Ten by Katie Cotugno

img_3572

This is one that has been featured on my blog ALOT, I think almost every Top Ten Tuesday I have posted there is a book by Katie Cotugno listed. This was such a good book to read, I love Ryan. So very much. He is amazing. I love how this is one that really ends up focusing on their relationship, different from the usual best friends fall in love stories.

4. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

img_3579

I didnt think I was going to like this one. I wasnt the biggest fan of the last Morgan Matson book I read but this one was so much better. And I read it during the right time in my life, I had a very different summer than what I am used to. A lot of things that I didnt expect happened and I felt like I could really relate to the characters. Andie grows and becomes a whole different person over the course of her summer. 

5. Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

img_2662

In my eyes, Jenny Han can do no wrong. She is the queen of trilogies, creating the most perfect worlds for us in three books. (If she could write a crossover book with The Summer I Turned Pretty characters and To All The Boys I Have Loved Before that would be the best thing ever.) I love Lara Jean and her whole family, they are fun, caring, funny and fierce. I want to be like Stormy as an old woman. Also, Peter loves Lara Jean more than I have ever seen a fictional character loving their significant other. 

3. Fireworks by Katie Cotugno

img_2053

The 90’s, boybands and Disney World all wrapped into this really pretty book. The friendship drama in this book hits close to home, I had one of my best friends drop me as if it was no big deal and I always wonder what happened to her. I had spent our six years of friendship living in her shadow. Alex is swoon worthy in every way possible, he is passionate and caring and he is great for Dana. 

2. P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

img_1933

Can we talk about one of the cutest contemporary reads I have ever read before? It was a quick read and gave me all the feels at once. The characters are cute, charming, fun and sincere. Cade and Lilly balance each other out very well. 

1.Simon Vs The Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

img_2147

My boy, Simon. I can’t even figure out what to say about this book. I heard about Becky Albertalli from an email I had received from Dahlia Adler a year ago when I emailed her about books written by other Jewish authors. I love this book, Simon is adorable and sweet and amazing. 

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page