top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Top Ten Books I Forgot I Loved

We all have those books we were obsessed with growing up or loved more than anything before we moved on to reading new things. Let me know what your favorites were or books you loved, down in the comments!

1. Confessions of The Sullivan Sisters by Natalie Standiford

Sullivan_sister-210

When the Sullivan sisters rich grandmother announces she’s dying, she surprises her family even more by letting them know that they all have been written out of her will because one of them have done something to upset her. The only way any of the sisters can be written back in is if she confesses everything she’s done. The three sisters spill all of their secrets in order to get back into the will. Its a hilarious tale about an eccentric and overly wealthy family.

2. The He’s So/ She’s So trilogy by Kieran Scott

Ally Ryan’s dead has screwed over all of her friends parents when he convinced them all to invest with him. When he looses all their money, Ally and her mom flee town to escape the shame he brought them. It’s now junior year of high school and Ally has moved back to her old money community. She never realized just how hard it is to be on the outside of something that she was once a part of. A fun trilogy about high school, fitting in, family and first love.

3. The Winnie Years by Lauren Myracle

The series follows Winnie Perry from the age of ten until she’s fourteen. It talks about first kiss, first boyfriends, first love, periods, tampons, new siblings, changing bodies and a lot more. I started reading the series from Eleven and read all the way until the series ends at Thirteen Plus One. This is a great read for anyone, no matter what age because we can all relate to Winnie.

4. The Avery Sisters Trilogy by Rachel Vail

Lucky, Gorgeous and Brilliant. Each book follows one of the Avery sisters and what quality they wish they could have. Each sister sacrifices something just to be known as either lucky, gorgeous or brilliant.

These three sisters are fierce, loyal and just amazing.

5.How To Love by Katie Cotugno

17332564

Reena has loved Sawyer for years, she finally gets to have her moment with him only to have him run from town, leaving her pregnant and alone in their florida town. The story is told in alternating timelines Before and After, before Sawyer left and after Sawyer comes back.

This was the first Katie Cotugno book I read and I fell in love with her writing from this. She writes real, raw and fun novels.

6.The Daughters by Joanna Philbin

The first three books in the series are about:

Lizzie Summers, daughter of a super model

Carine Jungerson, daughter of a media mogul

Hudson Jones, daughter of a famous singer

And in the fourth book we meet Emma Conway, daughter of a New York State Senator

The series follows the three and then four daughters, each book focusing on one of them and how they deal with having uber-famous parents. I really enjoyed reading these when I was in ninth grade, the daughters felt like they were my friends. They are loyal, fun, smart, insecure, flawed, fierce and everything I wish I was when I was that age. I love reading books about the rich and famous.

7. The Clique by Lisi Harrison

These books were my first exposure to the life of the wealthy private school kids. The series take place in Westchester, New York and are about a clique of four girls who have no choice but to allow new comer from Florida to join in with them. And boy did I love it. I loved these books. I connected with Massie and Claire, a lot. They were my first book friendship that I remember wishing were my actual friends.

I loved reading about them and I really felt like they were my friends. For all the not so nice things Massie did, she was one of the most loyal characters and friends I have ever read about. This was the books that led me to my LOVE of Gossip Girl. 

8. Other Words for Love by Lorrain Zago Rosenthal

8253694.jpg

This is a real, raw and heart wrenching book. The book takes place in the 1980’s where Ari feels out of place at her Brooklyn public high school. Her family comes into some money, which allows her to switch to an elite Manhattan prep-school and her whole life changes.

I read this when I was younger and I know I need to go back and re-read it, the love and emotions are so raw. Its amazing.

9.The Darlings by Melissa Kantor 

These two books follow three best friends in three different manhattan high schools during their freshman year. The three best friends are used to doing everything together until this point, the girls have to learn how to balance their new lives and keep their old friends too. This is the perfect friendship book for anyone. 

10. Lipstick Apology by Jennifer Jabaley 

9781101184561_p0_v1_s550x406

When Emily’s parents die in a plane crash, the only thing she knows is that her mom wrote on the lap tray on the plane “Emily please forgive me” in lipstick. After the crash, she moves in with her aunt in Manhattan and has to rebuild her whole life. Emily meets a lot of new people and ultimately has to decide if she wants to remember or forget the whole tragedy. I really enjoyed this book

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page