top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

To Be Honest by Maggie Ann Martin

Savannah is dreading being home alone with her overbearing mother after her sister goes off to college. But if she can just get through senior year, she’ll be able to escape to college, too. What she doesn’t count on is that her mother’s obsession with weight has only grown deeper since her appearance on an extreme weight-loss show, and now Savvy’s mom is pressuring her even harder to be constantly mindful of what she eats.

Between her mom’s diet-helicoptering, missing her sister, and worrying about her collegiate future, Savvy has enough to worry about. And then she meets George, the cute new kid at school who has insecurities of his own. As Savvy and George grow closer, they help each other discover how to live in the moment and enjoy the here and now before it disappears.

(I received an ARC of this novel for free from Bookcon 2018, that in no way impacts my feelings towards this novel.)

Savannah and her mom have always had a hard relationship, but she always had her sister as a buffer. But when her sister leaves for college and its just her and her mom, things start to get difficult.

I remember being a kid and watching “The Biggest Loser” with my mom. We would joke that we would watch It while eating junk food, which would make the trainers cry. I never paid attention to what happened to the contestant’s afterwards, but I remember seeing them on the cover of PEOPLE magazine later, talking about keeping their weight off. This novel opened my eyes to how this way of weight loss might not always be the best. Weight loss is such a hot topic these days, and its one that we loose almost all sensitivity for when talking about which I believe is a problem. (Sorry, rant over about this now back to the book review and the reason why ya’ll came here. Sorry!)

I really loved this book. I loved the development of the relationships between the characters and just how important each person was to the story. This story touches upon the dark side of loving someone who suffers from an eating disorder. Savannah loves her mom more than anything but there’s only so much she can do to help her.

I love George and the way their relationships develops. I love how Savannah and her dad slowly build back a relationship together too. The writing was fun, cute and meaningful. The female friendships were strong and important.

I strongly recommend this novel for anyone looking for a fun and meaningful read!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page