top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli


Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love–she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness–except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.

There’s only one problem: Molly’s coworker Reid. He’s an awkward Tolkien superfan with a season pass to the Ren Faire, and there’s absolutely no way Molly could fall for him. Right?

I can relate to Molly. Or at least I could until she got a boyfriend. I have never had a boyfriend. And I know the pain of  liking a guy and making yourself feel like maybe there is something there, to only find out that he doesn’t like you at all.

I have been a fan of Becky’s since I read Simon Vs. The Homosapien’s Agenda back in around May, her characters are relatable and the stories are too. I really like how the characters are jewish,  because I am jewish too and I felt like I could really relate to Molly  more than I have to any other character in a book I have read.

The characters are fun and relatable, making the book really enjoyable. It does a great job of having a really diverse group of characters. It features Jewish, lesbian, pansexual, African-American, Asian and many other characters which is so nice to see.

There was no part of this book that I really didnt like. It was fast paced and alot of fun. I would totally recommend it.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page