top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

The Mother-Daughter Book Club by Heather Vogel Frederick


The book club

is about to get

a makeover….

Even if Megan would rather be at the mall, Cassidy is late for hockey practice, Emma’s already read every book in existence, and Jess is missing her mother too much to care, the new book club is scheduled to meet every month.

But what begins as a mom-imposed ritual of reading Little Women soon helps four unlikely friends navigate the drama of middle school. From stolen journals, to secret crushes, to a fashion-fiasco first dance, the girls are up to their Wellie boots in drama. They can’t help but wonder: What would Jo March do?

Acclaimed author Heather Vogel Frederick will delight daughters of all ages in a novel about the fabulousness of fiction, family, and friendship.

I dont usually gravitate towards middle age books but this was a series I wish I read when I was the age it is geared towards.  I could relate to all the girls in the book. I wish I was friends with these girls when I was in the sixth grade.

Cassidy, Emma, Jess and Megan are four very different girls. They have different interests and come from very different backgrounds.  They are all going though their own things outside of the book club, but know that they need their friends to help them.

Megan doesn’t want to be in the same room as her former friend Emma or any of the other girls. She wants to be with the popular crowd, who bully these girls. Cassidy wants to be at ice hockey practice and while Jess and Emma are actually happy to be there.

The four girls are in the sixth grade, but are on the more mature end of sixth grade.  While some people might find it harder to believe that these girls are in sixth grade, I didn’t. I guess it’s because I work with kids over the summer and these things aren’t anything I haven’t seen or heard before.

The moms all do yoga together but aren’t your typical yoga moms, yoga seems to be the only thing they really have in common. The mothers are just as unique as their daughters are.

The four girls grow in this book, which is told from different points of view in each chapter. But its not confusing or hard to follow along at all. It’s nice and helps the reader get the full picture.

It is a book about friendship, first crushes, tough times and lots of laughs. It is a cute book that I recommend everyone read. I am very excited to read the rest of the series.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page