top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

The Ex-Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon (eARC Review)

Public radio co-hosts navigate mixed signals in Rachel Lynn Solomon’s sparkling romantic comedy debut.

Shay Goldstein has been a producer at her Seattle public radio station for nearly a decade, and she can’t imagine working anywhere else. But lately it’s been a constant clash between her and her newest colleague, Dominic Yun, who’s fresh off a journalism master’s program and convinced he knows everything about public radio.

When the struggling station needs a new concept, Shay proposes a show that her boss green-lights with excitement. On The Ex Talk, two exes will deliver relationship advice live, on air. Their boss decides Shay and Dominic are the perfect co-hosts, given how much they already despise each other. Neither loves the idea of lying to listeners, but it’s this or unemployment. Their audience gets invested fast, and it’s not long before The Ex Talk becomes a must-listen in Seattle and climbs podcast charts.

As the show gets bigger, so does their deception, especially when Shay and Dominic start to catch feelings for each other. In an industry that values truth, getting caught could mean the end of more than just their careers. (taken from goodreads.com)

*Before I jump into this review I want to thank Berkley, Rachel Lynn Solomon and Netgalley for providing me with an eARC in exchange for this honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*

Shay has been working in radio since she was in college, its all she knows and its all she wants to know. Dominic is fresh out of his masters program (something he won’t let anyone forget) and wants to be a breaking news journalist. They hate each other and everyone around them knows that. When the radio station they work at needs help keeping themselves alive, Shay and Dominic are assigned a project. They are now exes who have never dated but have to convince the world they have. The two get to know each other and slowly the tension goes away.

Wow I loved this book so much! Rachel’s books are always my favorite, she is one of my most favorite authors and I need to own every single one of her books and I am very proud to say that at this point I do.

Shay and Dominic are very different but very similar at the same time. Both of them are Seattle natives and love where they live, while Dominic has left Seattle at some point in his life Shay has not. Their personalities are very different but they balance each other out so well.

Shay is smart, passionate and trying to figure out how to continue her love of radio without the sad undertones of a loss she experienced years ago. She’s working in radio because its something that bonded her to her late father.

Dominic wants to be able to share journalism with the world. He wants to share hard hitting news. He has just moved back to Seattle and is trying to find his place among his friends who all seem to have moved on with their lives.

I loved the different relationships we are introduced to in this book. We have Shay and her mom, who are so close and both figuring out their lives after loss. Shay’s best friend Ameena and her boyfriend TJ. I love both of them, Ameena cares about Shay so deeply and same with Shay caring about her. The two are more like sisters than friends. Phil, Shay’s mom’s boyfriend who is just a great man. And all of the different people Shay works with. But the one relationship I love the most is Shay and Dominic.

As I read the story, I was introduced to different layers of both of the characters. Dominic is smart, driven, sensitive, attractive and a hopeless romantic. I think Dominic might be one of my favorite love interests I have ever been introduced to. We get to see so many different sides of Dominic, I think drunk Dominic is pretty great.

I loved this book so much. It had everything I love: grieving characters, Jewish characters, fake relationships, forced proximity, one bed, age gap, and so much more! I really could keep going but I’m a little nervous if I keep going I might spoil the whole book!

I really recommend pre-ordering a copy! This book comes out January 26th, 2021!!

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page