top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Recommended For You by Laura Silverman (ARC Review)

50800287. sy475

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets You’ve Got Mail in this charming and hilarious rom-com following two teen booksellers whose rivalry is taken to the next level as they compete for the top bookseller bonus.

Shoshanna Greenberg loves working at Once Upon, her favorite local bookstore. And with her moms fighting at home and her beloved car teetering on the brink of death, the store has become a welcome escape.

When her boss announces a holiday bonus to the person who sells the most books, Shoshanna sees an opportunity to at least fix her car, if none of her other problems. The only person standing in her way? New hire Jake Kaplan.

Jake is an affront to everything Shoshanna stands for. He doesn’t even read! But somehow his sales start to rival hers. Jake may be cute (really cute), and he may be an eligible Jewish single (hard to find south of Atlanta), but he’s also the enemy, and Shoshanna is ready to take him down.

But as the competition intensifies, Jake and Shoshanna grow closer and realize they might be more on the same page than either expects… (taken from goodreads.com) 

*Before jumping in, I want to thank the publisher for providing me with an Advanced Readers Copy in exchange for this honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been impacted by this fact.*

Shoshana Goldberg loves her job, her moms, her car and beating Jake at the holiday bonus competition. When the two go head to head, they slowly start to learn more about each other and see that there are more important things than this competition.

I really enjoyed this book! As someone who worked in retail, especially with books I was able to relate to Shoshana and her co-workers. I laughed and cringed when they had to deal with horrible customers. I will never forget the customer who came up to me and asked for a book he knew didn’t exist but thought we’d have it anyways.

Something Laura has in her novels is strong friendships, and this one definitely had that. Shoshana has a strong set of friends, each one is unique and offers something different. I love how close they all are and how different each one of them are!

Majority of the story takes place at the mall and I love that so much! I love the mall, my friends and I spend so much time there and so many of my memories of growing up are from going to the mall.

I found the representation in this novel to be great! I love the conversations that are had between Shoshana and her boss, a woman in a wheelchair, about what accessibility truly is and how to make places accessible for all.

If you’re looking for a fun, sweet, and oh so very Jewish holiday novel I HIGHLY recommend you pick this one up!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page