top of page

Permanent Record by Mary H.K. Choi (ARC Review)

Mary HK Choi new book cover reveal

Credit: ohgigue

After a year of college, Pablo is working at his local twenty-four-hour deli, selling overpriced snacks to brownstone yuppies. He’s dodging calls from the student loan office and he has no idea what his next move is.

Leanna Smart’s life so far has been nothing but success. Age eight: Disney Mouseketeer; Age fifteen: first #1 single on the US pop chart; Age seventeen, *tenth* #1 single; and now, at Age nineteen…life is a queasy blur of private planes, weird hotel rooms, and strangers asking for selfies on the street.

When Leanna and Pab randomly meet at 4:00 a.m. in the middle of a snowstorm in Brooklyn, they both know they can’t be together forever. So, they keep things on the down-low and off Instagram for as long as they can. But it takes about three seconds before the world finds out…

*Before I jump in, I want to thank the publisher and the organizers of Blog Bound convention for providing me with an ARC. This in no way impacts my honest review. All thoughts are my own.*

Pablo “Pab” Neruda Rind is a college drop out working at a bodega, excuse me I mean health food store, in Manhattan. He has no clue what he wants to do in life, but he knows he doesn’t want to work for the Kims forever. Leanna Smart is a pop star who has no thought of slowing down anytime soon, when the two worlds collide Pablo has to make a lot of difficult choices.

To me this book was solely about Pablo and his development as a person. It was about him being able to experience something bigger than himself, and to him that is Leanna. It’s focusing on her, experiencing fame but realizing that it’s not all its made out to be. It deals with race, class, and so much more. This book touched upon important topics and just wow. I really liked it.

I loved this SO much. I loved Pablo and his parents. His parents only want what is best for their son, they want Pablo to be successful, happy and healthy. I loved it!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page