top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

London Belongs To Me by Jacquelyn Middleton

A New City A New Start. Same Old Demons.

Your flight is now boarding! Join Alex Sinclair for a life-changing, trans-Atlantic journey. London Belongs to Me is a coming-of-age story about friendship, following your dreams, and learning when to let go … and when to hang on.

Meet Alex, a recent college graduate from Tallahassee, Florida in love with London, pop culture, and comic cons. It’s not easy being twenty-one-years-old, and Alex has never been the most popular girl. She’s an outsider, a geeky fangirl … with dreams of becoming a playwright in a city she’s loved from afar, but never visited. Fleeing America after a devastating betrayal, she believes London is where she’ll be understood, where she belongs. But Alex’s past of panic attacks and broken relationships is hard to escape. When her demons team up with a jealous rival determined to destroy her new British life, Alex begins to question everything: her life-long dream, her new friends, and whether London is where she truly belongs.

I was sent a copy of this book by the author and her team in return for a review. I requested this book from them to help me prepare for my trip to London in like ten days, maybe even less by the time you’re reading this.

Alex , a budding playwright, moves from Florida to get away from her mom who wants nothing to do with her. She moves to London, a city she has always believed is her rightful home. She moves in her with her friend from college, Harry, not knowing what other obstacles will be in her way when she moves in. She reconnects with old friends, makes some new ones and gets to know her new city.

I didn’t think I was going to love this book nearly as much as I did. First of all, the cover is so beautiful and the writing is so good. The characters are a lot of fun to get to know. I love Joan, she is a feisty and fun loving lady who reminds me of my grandmother (may she rest in peace.) I love seeing Alex still have a relationship with her dad and his family even though it hasn’t always been the best, due to her bad relationship with her mom.

I love how geeky Alex and her friends are, I feel like I would fit in really well with them.

And then there’s Mark, he’s an Irish actor who is just so swoon-worthy. I love guys with accents.

I really recommend this book to anyone who loves England, adventure, love and friendship. I am so happy I was able to read this before my trip. It gave me an insight to the tube and all other fun things I might want to do on my trip.

I can’t wait to read the sequel! I love these characters so much.

1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page