top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Friday Five Favorite

Hi friends! It’s been awhile since I have done a list post about my favorite anything, so I thought why not come over and write one! I have been having some trouble coming up with regular book review posts, so I thought this would be a fun way to spice things up. I still have a Bookcon post that I need to make (oops). This is going to be a mix of a bunch of things., so enjoy and let me know what your favorite things have been so far!

  1. My favorite album to listen to for the past two weeks has been Youngblood by 5 Seconds of Summer. I have been listening to them since they were a small Youtube band, I remember when they introduced Ashton for the first time as their drummer and I couldn’t be prouder of the band that they have become. They are incredibly talented and amazing. This album is so different than their other stuff, and I find myself feeling super connected to their lyrics in this album more than their others. (This image is not mine, this is the cover art for the album.)

268x0w

Some of my favorite songs from the album have been:

Why Wont You Love Me?

Monster Among Men

Moving Along

2. My current favorite read is “Not The Girls You’re Looking For” by Aminah Mae Safi.      I am rereading it and I can’t put it down. It is amazing and the messiness of Lulu makes the story feel so real. Lulu shows what its like to be a normal girl going through her teen years, rebelling and being judged on her religion. I related to Lulu in the way people assume you are the spokesperson for your religion, that what you say goes for everyone who believes in the same G-d as you.I can relate to Lulu and her friends, they are fierce and you don’t want to cross them. They remind me of my own best friends who I am thankful to have by my side through everything I go through.

3. My favorite T.V. show to watch lately has been “The Middle.” I used to hate this show more than anything when it was first on, I would use it for background noise when I would be in my den reading a book or working on my homework when I was home alone. But this past month I have started watching it regularly on FreeForm and it has become my new favorite thing. There is something about a regular family just going through regular things that is really fun to watch. Also, as a bookworm Brick’s feelings towards his books get me on a whole different level. And the fact that Sue never gives up. I love it.

4. My favorite podcasts have been “Don’t Blame Me” with Meghan Reinks and “Psychobabble” with Tyler Oakley and Korey Kuhl. “Don’t Blame Me” is an advice podcast where people call in and Meghan and her guest give their best advice. I have found that listening to her podcast is like having your best friends tell you what to do, her and her guests don’t hold back the same way your best friends wouldn’t hold back. They tell you what you don’t want to hear and it’s fun to listen to. There are new episodes I want to say every other week but I might be wrong. And then “Psychobabble” is an older podcast, there haven’t been any new episodes yet this year and I am really hoping they bring it back. Tyler Oakley and his best friend, Korey talk about literally everything. You just listen to them and their stream of consciousness. I love listening to it, I laugh out loud when I listen. So if you want to listen to either of these, or both!!! You can go to iTunes and listen FOR FREE!

5. My favorite movie I watched has been Incredibles 2! The short before it was so amazing, the animation was great and the deeper meaning really got me. I loved being able to see the Incredibles characters again and it was really fun seeing them pick up from where we last saw them. This is a movie I know I’m going to want to get on DVD and watch again and again.

images-6
0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page