top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Flight Season by Marie Marquardt


Back when they were still strangers, TJ Carvalho witnessed the only moment in Vivi Flannigan’s life when she lost control entirely. Now, TJ can’t seem to erase that moment from his mind, no matter how hard he tries. Vivi doesn’t remember any of it, but she’s determined to leave it far behind. And she will.

But when Vivi returns home from her first year away at college, her big plans and TJ’s ambition to become a nurse land them both on the heart ward of a university hospital, facing them with a long and painful summer together – three months of glorified babysitting for Ángel, the problem patient on the hall. Sure, Ángel may be suffering from a life-threatening heart infection, but that doesn’t make him any less of a pain.

As it turns out, though, Ángel Solís has a thing or two to teach them about all those big plans, and the incredible moments when love gets in their way.

Vivi’s entire life is coming crumbling down while her mom is in denial about what has happened during the aftermath of her husband’s death, Vivi’s dad. Not only has her family life been falling apart, but her college career hasn’t been so hot either. This internship at the hospital is her only way to save her spot in school, but the problem is she can’t stand any bodily fluids.

The book is told in alternating POV: Vivi, TJ and then Angel. It’s really great to be able to really see the whole story.

Vivi is a character that I loved to read about. She is fierce, determined, sort and learning how to be her own person now that her and her mom have to piece their lives back together. TJ is a brooding guy who I wasnt sure if I was going to like at first, but the more I read about him and the more I got to know the more I enjoyed reading about him. And then we have Angel, an 18 year old heart patient who can be a real pain in the behind but makes some of the greatest friends he could want.

I loved reading this book. A lot. I have been reading a lot of books that center around characters who are grieving, at first I was scared to due to my own background but I have found that I can really relate to the characters, and Vivi is no different. She wants nothing more than to be okay and to be her own person, but she learns that that’s not how these things work.

Then we have TJ, he is great.Him and Vivi start off not wanting much to do with each other but slowly get to become better friends. He is strong emotional support for his friends and he is loyal to his family. I love getting to see how he interacts with his family at their restaurant.  TJ and his family are a strong Brazilian family who run a restaurant and bar in Florida. I love learning about other people’s cultures, it gives me a better understanding and appreciation for the world.

And Angel, who is probably my favorite. An eighteen year old, spit fire of a boy. He is an immigrant from Guatemala and has an over sized heart (literally). At first I wasn’t sure what to make of him, but he slowly evolves into the most loving and caring character in the book. He watches everything that happens, and slowly develops strong friendships with TJ and Vivi.

This book touches upon difficult topics such as grief, putting your life back together, deportation and just learning to be your own person.

I loved this book so much and I really think it is now one of my favorite books.  It’s well written, fun, different and just plain amazing. I really recommend this as a summer read to add to your list.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page