top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

#Famous by Jilly Gagnon


In this modern-day love story, Girl likes Boy, Girl takes photo of Boy and posts it online, Boy becomes accidentally insta-famous. And what starts out as an innocent joke spirals into a whirlwind adventure that could change both their lives—and their hearts—forever. But are fame and love worth the price?

Told in alternating points of view, #famous captures the out-of-control thrill ride of falling for someone in front of everyone. (synopsis from goodreads)

I started reading the first five chapters of this book in the EpicReads First Five emails (I think that’s what it’s called). For those of you who don’t know, EpicReads offers you to be able to sign up and receive in your email inbox the first five chapters of the current popular YA book that is published by HarperCollins. It’s a fun way to be able to see if you’re going to like the new book that is coming out.

Rachel, the nerdy drama girl, has a huge crush on Kyle. Kyle is mister popular, he’s on the lacrosse team and has a just as popular girlfriend. Rachel takes a picture of Kyle at work and sends out a tweet with a funny caption, not expecting it to gain any momentum. But that is where she’s wrong, the tweet takes off and everyone starts seeing it. The tweet gets Kyle a lot of fame, but none for Rachel.

I enjoyed reading this book at first but the more I got into it, I found that I was forcing myself to read it. I wasn’t enjoying it nearly as much as I hoped I would. The writing was confusing at points, which made me have to read some of the sentences over and over again. So I put it down for a bit and then came back to it, and I liked it more than I thought.

While the story line was overused, it was something I liked. I love the cheesy plot lines. I didn’t like Kyle’s girlfriend, she was just a pain in my rear end. And Rachel’s best friend, Mo, I wish was more developed. Because I feel like I could have liked her more. I felt like the relationship of Kyle and Rachel throughout the book seem forced which is something I didn’t like that much. It was definitely worth the read and I didn’t hate it. But I wish I liked WAY more than I did.

If you have read the book, let me know in the comments what you thought about it!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page