top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Color Me In by Natasha Diaz (Book Review)

35442710._SY475_

Debut YA author Natasha Díaz pulls from her personal experience to inform this powerful coming-of-age novel about the meaning of friendship, the joyful beginnings of romance, and the racism and religious intolerance that can both strain a family to the breaking point and strengthen its bonds.

Who is Nevaeh Levitz?

Growing up in an affluent suburb of New York City, sixteen-year-old Nevaeh Levitz never thought much about her biracial roots. When her Black mom and Jewish dad split up, she relocates to her mom’s family home in Harlem and is forced to confront her identity for the first time.

Nevaeh wants to get to know her extended family, but one of her cousins can’t stand that Nevaeh, who inadvertently passes as white, is too privileged, pampered, and selfish to relate to the injustices they face on a daily basis as African Americans. In the midst of attempting to blend their families, Nevaeh’s dad decides that she should have a belated bat mitzvah instead of a sweet sixteen, which guarantees social humiliation at her posh private school. Even with the push and pull of her two cultures, Nevaeh does what she’s always done when life gets complicated: she stays silent.

It’s only when Nevaeh stumbles upon a secret from her mom’s past, finds herself falling in love, and sees firsthand the prejudice her family faces that she begins to realize she has a voice. And she has choices. Will she continue to let circumstances dictate her path? Or will she find power in herself and decide once and for all who and where she is meant to be?

*Before I jump in, I want to thank my good friends The Book Bratz for sending me an ARC they had. I am so thankful to them for sending this my way. This has not impacted my thoughts and review of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own.*

Neveah and her mom have moved to Harlem, moving in with her moms family when her parents split up. Neveah was excited to get to know her family, but she didn’t realize there would be as many differences at first that there was.

This is a story of discovering who you are, speaking out for yourself and your family and so much more.

This was one of those books that I loved more than anything but also really wanted to punch some characters in the face. (Her dad and Abby).

I also loved some characters more than anything when reading. Her Aunt Anita is a fierce woman who reminded me of my own aunts. She is smart, protective and wants nothing but the best for her family. She wants her children and her niece to stay safe, do well in school and work hard.

Neveah’s voice is fresh and strong. She is learning more and more about her two cultures, and she connects to both of them differently. I connected to Neveah, understanding her frustration with being pushed to do something she had no say in when It came to religion and also the way she connected to different things. This story of discovery is so important.

Neveah and I are both Jewish, and while our Judaisim doesn’t look the same that doesn’t make either of us “more” Jewish than the other which was an important lesson I learnt while reading this book.

I loved Neveah’s family. Her cousins, her aunt and uncle, her grandfather and her mom were some of my favorite characters. They all love each and really rally together in a time of need.

I can not rave about this book enough. This book is extremely important and I need everyone to read It.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page