top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

A Good Girls Guide to Murder (A Good Girls Guide to Murder #1) by Holly Jackson (Book Review)

The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the murder, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn’t so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final year project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth? (taken from goodreads.com)

Five years ago, Andie Bell went missing and then was announced murdered by Sal Singh. Or at least thats what the town believes to be true, Pipa knows that there is more to this case than what they have been told by the media. Everything is fine until Pippa gets deeper into this investigation than she thought she would and what happens when it’s not as safe as she thought it would?

I have NEVER been a thriller/murder mystery reader. I usually stay FAR away from these types of books but I have been seeing this one ALL over Instagram and my best friend read it last summer and really enjoyed It!

Pippa is smart, protective, loving, kind and driven. When she puts her mind to something she makes sure it happens, and she doesn’t let anything stop her. I loved Pippa and getting to know her, I found that her voice was genuine throughout the novel and her humor shone through.

I really liked that we got the texts, emails and transcripts from the investigation. This gave me that ability to really grasp everything that was going on in the story.

I wish we got to know more about Ravi, Sal’s brother that Pippa befriends when she starts her project. He knows that his brother is innocent, but the town refuses to see that treating him and his family as if they were the ones who murdered Andie. I also wish we got to know some of Pippa’s other friends but I understand that that was not the point of the novel.

I could also tell that this is a novel that was originally published in the UK and some of the wording was changed for US publishing, it is very obvious and there were parts that weren’t changed properly that bothered me. (This is a thing particular to me, I don’t know if it would bother other people.)

There are trigger warnings for parent death, drugs, sexual assault, and murder.

I really enjoyed this novel and I am very very excited to read the next one!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page