top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

A Date with Darcy (Bookish Boyfriends #1) by Tiffany Schmidt

35888335

In this contemporary YA, a teenager’s favorite literary heroes woo her in real life

The first of two books in an intended paperback original series about a girl whose classic literary crushes manifest in real life. Merrilee Campbell, 16, thinks boys are better in books, chivalry is dead, and there’d be nothing more romantic than having just one guy woo her like the heroes in classic stories. She’s about to get the chance to test these daydreams when she, her best friend, Eliza, and her younger sister, Rory, transfer into Reginald R. Hero High, where all their fantasies come true—often with surprising consequences.

Before I jump into the review, I want to thank NetGalley for providing me with a free eARC in exchange for this honest review. The fact that I received this eARC for free doesn’t make any impact on my review.

I was really excited when I got accepted for this eARC. It looked super cute and fun, and it was. But I expected more from it.

Merrilee loves reading. She strongly believes that the best boys out there are the ones she reads about in books, but when she meets real life boys who are similar to some of the greatest in literature.

I found this story to be fun. It was a different type of story, the idea is original and fun. I did find the book to be boring in the beginning and had a little trouble following what the plot was at first. By the middle of the book I was able to understand it more.

Merrilee is fun and quirky. She is smart, driven and always getting into some sort of trouble. Her friends are fierce, unique and great. I really liked getting to know them and I am excited to see more of them in the next book.

The love interests were very different. Monroe, who is more of Romeo, is very intense and all in. He doesn’t know when to stop and doesn’t take no for an answer. And then we have Fielding, whom I love, he is much more calm. But then there’s Toby, poor Toby suffering from unrequited love.

The story is fun but I wish there was more character development and a stronger plot line. I am definitely going to read the next one, but I had really high hopes for this one.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page