top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Feyre’s survival rests upon her ability to hunt and kill – the forest where she lives is a cold, bleak place in the long winter months. So when she spots a deer in the forest being pursued by a wolf, she cannot resist fighting it for the flesh. But to do so, she must kill the predator and killing something so precious comes at a price …

Dragged to a magical kingdom for the murder of a faerie, Feyre discovers that her captor, his face obscured by a jewelled mask, is hiding far more than his piercing green eyes would suggest. Feyre’s presence at the court is closely guarded, and as she begins to learn why, her feelings for him turn from hostility to passion and the faerie lands become an even more dangerous place. Feyre must fight to break an ancient curse, or she will lose him forever. (synopsis from goodreads.com)


As you guys may know, I am not the biggest fan of fantasy. It is very rare that I am able to finish a fantasy novel. And I am proud to say that I have finished A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass. I never really planned on picking up the book in the first place, but the more I saw it on instagram I realized that there is no harm in trying out the book.

I took out the book from my library because I didn’t want to buy it just in case I didn’t like it. One of the things that really pushed me to keep reading it was the fact that it is a Beauty and The Beast retelling. I really love retellings.

I’m not in love the book. While I was reading, I found it to be  very wordy, you know what I mean? Like books are all wordy because thats what a book is made out of but some are more wordy than others. I thought it was written well and the plot line was clear from the beginning.

I like the characters. I think that  Feyre is an extremely strong character and I like how she won’t give up. I personally don’t see the appeal of Rhysand, I love Tamlin.  I like how comfortable the two characters were with each other. I have read that there will be more of Rhysand and Feyre in the next books which makes me kind of sad because I really love Tamlin. I also really love Tamlin and Lucien’s friendship, I like how much they cared about each other.

The cover itself is really pretty and I like the rest of the covers are similar, making it very cohesive. The writing was easy to understand and the story flowed really nicely. I am going to continue to read the series and I hope to like it more than this one. Everyone I have spoken to has said that they liked ACOMAF more than ACOTAR, which I feel is common in a series. People usually like the following books better than the first one.

Have you read the ACOTAR series? What did you think of it? Do you like fantasy? Let me know down below!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page