top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

2018 Reading Wrap-Up- My Favorites of the Year

This year started off as a really strong reading year and then I got to the summer and it was like the last thing I wanted to do was read a book, I did watch every episode of The Middle this summer though. That was actually really fun. But besides that, here are is my reading wrap-up for the year of 2018, including my 25 top reads! (These aren’t in any particular order of favorites but just when I read them this year.)

  1. The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

514sa3HcecL

This was a book I picked up because of Chelsea from Chelseadollingreads and it WAS AMAZING! Its such a fun office romance.

2. Hot Mess by Emily Belden

814Al1RuxFL

This was amazing. I devoured it, you can check out my review of it here Hot Mess by Emily Belden   . The characters were amazing and It was just so much fun.

3. Things I Can’t Forget by Miranda Kenneally

img_5291

This was actually the first book I read this year. I have a review of it here   Things I Can’t Forget by Miranda Kenneally this was such an amazing read. I finished it so fast, I highly recommend checking out her books!

img_5085-1

This was AMAZING! I can not stop raving about this. It was cute, fun and such a quick read. It’s a perfect summer read.

img_5763

This was such a fun book! If you’re looking for a feel good romance filled with baking, this is one you should check out!

img_4532-1

2018 was the year I discovered my love for Sarah Dessen’s novels. This was amazingly well-written and tore my heart to bits but it was by far my most favorite book by her that I have read this year.

y648-3

This was so much fun. I love the formatting of the novel, told in interviews, texts, emails and more. I also love how this took place on Long Island and because of this book I met The Book Bratz who are now some of my really good blogger friends!

img_6250

Also another big time favorite. I loved Vivi and TJ so much, they are just so amazing. This is another one that really touched me and made me think.

35297380

This was another one that really made me think. I love being able to get to see more college-aged characters in young adult novels.

img_6078-1

I loved this so much. Vee and Cam’s relationship and friendship was so great and I just loved it.

img_6004

This was such a great read. I really loved it. I felt like I could really relate to Penny and her anxiety about being college.

81qhAqGfm6L.jpg

This was by far one of the best books I have read this year. The writing was out of this world and the plot was so great. I loved this so much.

img_6844-1

This was by far one of the most meaningful reads that I read this past year. The writing was amazing and Angie Thomas does a fantastic job at everything about this book. You need to read It.

IMG_6360

Morgan Matson is my queen. I have been reading her books since I was in high school and I will always read her books. This was by the best one I have read by her, there was something so special about this story.

img_6917

I know you’re all sick and tired of me screaming about this book, but you guys I can’t help it. This book means the world to me and these characters are so special. If you haven’t read this yet, I really really recommend you get yourself a copy.

img_7025-1

This book was filled with friendship, love and ice cream. I mean its like the most perfect book ever. I loved this so much and I really recommend you read it.

img_7162

This year I pushed myself into branching out and trying more adult romance novels. This was by far one of my favorite ones. The diverse cast, amazing writing and great storyline was just the best.

img_7067

This was an amazing book I was lucky enough to be part of a tour for. These girls are the fiercest characters I have ever met and I think everyone needs to read this.

y648

This was by far the best book I read this summer. I devoured this. Jamie is my new favorite person. Rose and Jamie are amazing. I love how Rose is Jewish, It me feel even more connected to the story. I cried, laughed and so much more when reading this book.

20. All We Ever Wanted by Emily Giffin

A1NpcyR2rHL

Seems like I didn’t write a review for this one but I can’t stop raving about this. I recommend this book to all of my friends. It is such an amazing read, so important right now and just so well written.

21. My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan

51z5XeHQ9wL._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_

LOVED THIS SO MUCH! Its about a girl who receives a Rhodes scholarship and goes to Oxford and falls in love and makes new friends. I loved it so much! This is amazing and sad and so well written and so great!

22.Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

18304322

I loved this so much! I didn’t write a formal review for it either but I should have. This was so much fun and so meaningful and I have already been lending out my copy to people.

23. Puddin’ by Julie Murphy

28269171

THIS WAS SO GOOD! I love Millie and Callie so much. The character development in this book was out of this world. I loved this!!!

24. Check, Please! by Ngozi Ukazu

fullsizeoutput_2337

There is nothing I love more than baking and ice hockey. I loved this. It was so much fun! The graphics were out of this world and I CAN NOT WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE!

IMG_1074

THE BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ EVER! I LOVED You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone but this one hit me even harder. Peter and Sophie and their friendship. And learning to grow and be your own person and discovering your relationship with religion. THE BEST BOOK. This book made me laugh and cry and so much more. This book comes out in January of 2019, PRE-ORDER IT.

What was your favorite book that you read this year? Let me know!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page