top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

She’s The Worst by Lauren Spieller The FFBC Blog Tour (Book Review and Giveaway)

book cover-2.jpg

Sisters April and Jenn haven’t been close in years. Jenn’s too busy with school, the family antique shop, and her boyfriend, and April would rather play soccer and hang out with the boy next door.

But when April notices her older sister is sad about staying home for college, she decides to do something about it. The girls set off to revive a pact they made as kids: spend an epic day exploring the greatest hits of their childhood and all that Los Angeles has to offer.

Then April learns that Jenn has been keeping a secret that could rip their family—and their feuding parents—apart. With only one day to set things right, the sisters must decide if their relationship is worth saving, or if the truth will tear them apart for good.

(Before I jump in I want to thank The FFBC and Simon and Schuster for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest opinions. All thoughts are my own and are not impacted by anything.)

April and Jenn are sisters and that’s it. There once was a time when they were friends, but neither of them can remember that time in their lives. April thinks Jenn is sad because she’s staying at home for college, so she does all she can to show Jenn how amazing Los Angeles is. But that’s not the truth, and when it all comes tumbling out April and Jenn have two choices, continue their relationship of only being sisters or try being sisters who are also friends.

April and Jenn are sisters who are so different. April is athletic and does her own thing, Jenn is intellectual and tries to play by the rules to a T even if it means sacrificing her own happiness for the happiness of her family.

These two sisters reminded me of myself and my brother, while my brother is more than just my sibling he is also my friend. But we are extremely different, my brother is an athlete and loves math. I am much more creative and anything related to math makes me want to cry my eyes out.

I connected to April in many ways, and I understand how it feels to stand in the shadow of your sibling. Its a feeling I have had for a very long time.

Jenn is strong, determined and caring. April is impulsive, fun loving and caring in her own way. These two sisters are so different but no matter what they are sisters.

I love how this book shows us different sibling relationships, they are all different. Some are more tense than others. But again, at the end of the day, they are all siblings.

I loved Nate, April’s best friend. He is just the best.

I really strongly recommend this book and I think EVERYONE should read it.

AUTHOR-2.jpg

Lauren Spieller is an author and literary agent who lives in New York with her husband. When she isn’t writing, she can be found drinking lattes, pining for every dog she sees, or visiting her native California. She is the author of Your Destination is on the Left and She’s the Worst. Follow her on Twitter @laurenspiellerand Instagram @laurenspieller. You can also visit her website at www.laurenspieller.com

GIVEAWAY

Prize: Win (1) of (2) finished copies of SHE’S THE WORST by Lauren Spieller (US Only)

Starts: 28thAugust 2019

Finished: 16thSeptember 2019

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page