top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Author Interview with Elissa Sussman, Author of DRAWN THAT WAY (Coming out September 28th, 2020)


KAYLA READS AND REVIEWS: Are there any tips about writing a book you wish someone told you before you wrote DRAWN THAT WAY?


ELISSA SUSSMAN: The advice I always give first time writers is that writing is personal, but publishing is not. You should always write to please yourself because you can’t please everyone. There are going to be plenty of readers that don’t like the way I write about Judaism or animation or feminism. They might not see themselves in the story - it might not reflect their experience and that’s ok!


KRAR: Why was it important to you to have your main character be Jewish?


ES: DRAWN THAT WAY is a super personal story, and Hayley is very much a reflection of me, so it just made sense that she was Jewish as well. It was always something that felt very natural.


KRAR: Has the current political climate/antisemitism made you hesitant in any way to publish novels where the main character is Jewish?


ES: The opposite, in fact! I want to write and read more books about being Jewish. We are more than just Holocaust stories! I think a lot about Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s TED Talk about the danger of a single story, and I know other authors from marginalized groups have spoken about the pressure to write books that are often centered around pain and hardship. DRAWN THAT WAY is a Jewish story because I’m Jewish and Hayley is Jewish - that part of her identity is intrinsic to the story, but it isn’t the whole story. I’m hopeful we’re making more space for stories like that AND stories that focus on Jewish identity AND books about the Holocaust.


KRAR: Do you have a favorite thing about being Jewish?


ES: The food! I’m not especially religious, but I love the cultural aspects of Judaism and I love sharing them with friends. When I was younger, I always requested sponge cake for my birthday and it’s not the holiday season unless I’ve made latkes (team sour cream!)


KRAR: Do you have any tips for Jewish writers who want to write about Jewish characters?


ES: It’s the same tip I’d have for any writer - be specific. Write with authority about the things you know. Authority doesn’t mean that you’re an expert, but rather that you have a lived experience that can help inform your characters and make them feel real. This is especially true when it comes to being part of a marginalized group. There’s a great interview where Denzel Washington talks about the difference between “color” and “culture”. Culture is all about the details, the things you know deep down in your bones. Leaning into that can be your super power when it comes to writing.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Ayf8Iny9Eg


Growing up, was there ever a book that made you feel “seen” for your Jewish identity?


It’s not a book, but An American Tail was the first time I saw myself in popular culture. As a kid, I remembered it “feeling” Jewish, but when I rewatched it recently, I saw that it is explicitly so because the family is celebrating Hanukkah at the beginning of the film. Since there are practically no animated movies with Jewish characters (and lots of Christmas specials or shorts), I connected on a very visceral level with that movie. It’s still a favorite.


KRAR: Can you tell me a secret about DRAWN THAT WAY?


ES: I worked in animation production for almost five years and used a lot of my personal experiences to inform Hayley’s story. However, I can’t draw! While Hayley and I are very similar, I’d say the character that is actually the closest to me, is Zoe, one of the production assistants.


KRAR: If your characters had instagram accounts, what would they be posting? Inspirational quotes? Cute baby animal photos? Mood boards? Photos of their friends? Or something else?

ES: Hayley would totally be posting sketches and drawings of the projects she’s working on, plus fun and saucy drawings of celebrities/characters that her friends have requested.


Elissa's novel DRAWN THAT WAY comes out on September 28th! Available for purchase wherever books are sold!




8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page