top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

Author Interview with E.J. Schwartz, Author of BEFORE WE WERE BLUE



Kayla Reads and Reviews: Are there any tips about writing a book you wish someone told you before you wrote BEFORE WE WERE BLUE?


E.J. Schwartz: I wish someone told me to plan out my timeline! Gah! If I had only taken the time when I was drafting, I would have saved myself so much trouble in revision.


KRAR: Was there anything as a Jewish person that you didn’t know about the culture/religion or relearned as an adult while doing research for your main character/novel?


EJS: A friend gifted me “The Jewish Book of Why” last year and I’ve learned so much from that. But I read it after writing “Before We Were Blue” and I’m kind of glad it worked out that way. My main character, Shoshana, is similar to me on a number of levels and I don't think she would have read a book like “The Jewish Book of Why” yet. I’m glad she doesn’t have all the answers!


KRAR: Why was it important to you to have your main character be Jewish?


EJS: I’ve always had a complicated relationship with Judaism. I was in Hebrew school as a kid and I remember learning about the Holocaust, being told when I was ten that it was my job to spread awareness since so many people still deny it happened. But that was a lot of pressure. I didn’t like it. It took time for me to really appreciate being Jewish. And there are still days where it feels like I’m carrying too much generation trauma, the fear of mass murder. But then there are days where I feel being Jewish is carrying a candle inside me, holding and spreading warmth and light wherever I go. And I feel lucky.


KRAR: Has the current political climate/antisemitism made you hesitant in any way to publish a novel where the main character is Jewish?


EJS: If anything, I think the current climate has shown me we need more Jewish representation. I’m grateful I made my main character Jewish because, scientifically-speaking, novels with Jewish characters—or any minority—help create compassion and empathy from people who aren’t a part of that group.


KRAR: Were there any specific instances of antisemitism that you have experienced in your life that have translated into your work?


EJS: The college I attended was once Christian-affiliated, and so at various points when I was there, there were swatsitkas spray-painted on the ground and one was written on a Jewish RA’s door (I became an RA a couple of years later). I remember taking off my Jewish star necklace at the time. And I haven’t put it back on since. Seeing the Jewish star necklace in “Call Me By Your Name” made me really want to. It stood out to me in a pivotal way of quite representation. But I still haven’t found it in myself to put my necklace back on. I feel both extremely lucky and, paradoxically, guilty, that I can choose to prioritize my physical safety over expressing my Judaism to the public.

As for how antisemitism translates to the book, Shoshana shares a similar relationship to Judaism that I do. She can be a little self-deprecating about it, but ultimately she feels like it’s a group where she’s accepted. She deals with antisemitism in her own way, but one similarity that’s pulled directly from my own experience is antisemitism in competitive sports, specifically the world of competitive cheerleading.


KRAR: Do you have a favorite thing about being Jewish?


EJS: My favorite thing about being Jewish is meeting other Jewish people! The Jews I’ve met are some of the kindest, smartest, coolest people. I don’t know why exactly (maybe because we know six million of us were murdered and you kind of automatically bond with people in that boat) but in my experience, Jewish people are shining stars.


KRAR: Do you have a favorite Jewish holiday?


EJS: Hanukkah! (: What can I say? I like presents!


KRAR: Do you have any tips for Jewish writers who want to write about Jewish characters?


EJS: For Jewish writers penning Jewish characters, I’d say: write toward your own experience of being Jewish. Don’t worry about portraying Jewish people a certain way. There’s pressure to be relatable and “get it right,” but every Jewish person is different. There’s beauty in how multifaceted our experiences are.


KRAR: Growing up, was there ever a book that made you feel “seen” for your Jewish identity?


EJS: I can’t think of one! How sad is that?! *still thinking* Nope, don’t think so.


KRAR: Can you tell me a secret about BEFORE WE WERE BLUE that no one else knows?


EJS: Hmmm! *taps chin* Oh! The last edit I made to the book was changing the very first line!


KRAR: If your characters had instagram accounts, what would they be posting? Inspirational quotes? Cute baby animal photos? Mood boards? Photos of their friends? Or something else?


EJS: My characters do have instagram accounts! You’ll have to read the book to find out what their pages are like! (;


KRAR: Can you summarize your book using only emojis or GIFs please?

EJS: 👭⬜️🍽📣🪟🏥💃🧍‍♀️🔥👩‍💻💌🤸🏽‍♀️👩‍⚕️💔🩹📱✂️🟦❔


KRAR: Is there anything you want people to know about your book before they start reading?


EJS: I penned an author’s note at the beginning of my book, so that should cover things! But I’ll just say now—my characters use dark humor as a coping mechanism. It’s cathartic for them like it is for me. And so, I hope people find laughter at some of the bleak parts in the book. Sometimes we need to laugh at how terrible things are so we can start to heal.


EJ's book Before We Were Blue is out now!






30 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page