top of page
  • Writer's pictureKayla Isabel

April Wrap Up

Hi friends! I know it's already close to mid-May but I don't think it's too late to share what I read last month! April wasn't as great of a reading month as I had hoped, I really wanted to read a lot more than I got around to. I ended up reading eight books in April, which isn't bad but I was hoping to get closer to ten if I could.


  1. Float Plan by Trish Doller

  • ARC

  • Content warning for: Suicide, suicide description, depression

  • Grief

  • Amputee rep

  • Beautiful and heartbreaking

2. Where It All Lands by Jennie Wexler


  • ARC

  • Jewish OwnVoices rep

  • Grief

  • Beautiful and heartbreaking

  • Divorce, loss of a parent

3. A Pho Love Story by Loan Le


  • Vietnamese OwnVoices

  • Feuding Pho restaurants

  • Romeo and Juliet vibes

  • So amazing and fun

4. Fat Chance, Charlie Vega by Crystal Maldonado


  • Dominican OwnVoices

  • Fat rep

  • Content warning for fatphobia, loss of a parent

  • Learning to love yourself

  • Diverse cast of characters

  • So amazing

5. A Cuban Girl's Guide to Tea and Tomorrow by Laura Taylor Namey


  • Cuban OwnVoices

  • Reread on audio

  • Amazing narrator

6. The Last Summer at the Golden Hotel by Elyssa Friedland


  • Jewish OwnVoices

  • Catskills Jewish hotel

  • Multigenerational

  • Amazing dialogue

  • Point of View from many different characters

  • ARC

7. Heart on a Leash by Alanna Martin


  • eARC

  • Jewish OwnVoices

  • Alaska setting

  • Family feud

  • Super cute dogs

  • So much fun

  • Loved this

8. Princess in the Spotlight by Meg Cabot


  • Reread on audio

  • I love that Anne Hathaway did the narrations

  • I forgot how much Lilly sucks


Have you read any of these? What is your favorite book you've read in April?

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page